Huiskind project

Huiskind is a narrative project aimed at giving kids a sense of hope and purpose by showing them relatable heroes who escape from abuse and find safe and nurturing relationships.

The project was birthed from a vision Elsa Pretorius received after working with poverty-stricken school children in a small town in South Africa. The children’s lives were steeped in domestic sexual abuse, drug addiction, gangsterism and violence. Elsa brought them a message of hope – that God loves them no matter how broken and ashamed they feel about themselves. The message had such an impact on their lives, the school headmaster asked Elsa to speak at morning assembly as often as possible. Grandmothers started attending, then parents. Many souls found healing and redemption. And the school’s academic results improved dramatically.

In 2020, Elsa approached Bugbox to write a TV series communicating the curriculum she formulated while teaching the small community. Because of the gritty social issues she was dealing with, we proposed a zombie-apocalypse genre aimed at ten-to-twelve-year-olds: think Maze Runner meets The 100 – a journey story with teenage gangs, action, adventure and romance, all underpinned with a redemptive message of hope for the abused and victimized.

Since this is a non-profit project, we have created an internship programme to illustrate the series as a Webtoon comic. You can find it here:

A huge and heartfelt thanks to all the interns that have contributed to making this toon a reality…

Jaron Grobler

Abhishek Andhee

Farayi Mpofu

Joshua Craytor-Farinha

Siwaphiwe Mfaku

Taija Hartwig

Yanmei Liang

Claire Coll

Clementine David

Clara Salesiani

Morgan Vincent

Sofia Tomashpolska

Violetta Gulkova

Samuel Digallo

Jean-Eudes Guenard

Guénael Odin-Chatelain

Antoine Charvieux

Camille Lescurieux

Julie Huet

Lily Bonner

Liam Nougarolles

Déborah Rudeau

Gaël Dohet

Jason Best

Kiarra Kruger

Charné van der Merwe

Christiaan Roux

Ayanda Gigaba

Caitlin Nuttall

Skye Coombes

Estian Gerber

Blaze Ballantyne

Caleb January

Sambulo Nxele

Devon Geldenhuys

Laeeqa Geyer

Joshua Vorster

Ben Cleminson

Cleo Hendricks

Daniella Dias

Michael Tselentis

Pia Ghaoui

Thomas Correia

Célia Lekadir

Mathilde Veuillet

Tebo Ramosili

Joel Matshaeni

Thato Mashava

Tsholofelo Motswakae

Lebogang Maropeng

Kyle Haskins

Thando Msiza

Phoebe Redelinghuys

Alex Parsotam

Fumani Hlungwane

Ashleigh Maart

Bwalya Chinukwe

Robin Thomas

Joshua Tshipamba

Jesi-Kiara Singh

Thuto Majafa

Liam Solomons

Sandile Citabatwa

Noah Ferris

Shaun Murray

Tanita Petropoullakis

Jeorja Woolf

Nkosinathi Zima

Gcwalisile Khoza

Mikayla Smith

Hongfei Ji

Aylah Martin

Isheanesu Mafofo

Reece Fry

Taryn Basel

Arnauld Desvaux De Marigny

Paul Pauwels

Marvin Way

Erick Bloem

Greg Bell

Brent Roberts

Mariam Manon Diawara

Charles Perroud

Clara Peticlerc

Paloma Bray

Enzo Pierlot

Bakary Sossah

Mzukisi Nana

Lynri van Niekerk

Jade Pretorius

Devilliers Cloete

Arron Williams

Fungai Mudimu

Deeran Dass

Mark du Preez

Jordan McGlynn

Tumelo Matabola

Kyra Cross

Anika Immelman

Carmen Spies

Thaila Peloi

Michelle Li

Lenore Banton

Mia Brettell

Bonga Qika

Odirile Kgosana

Atiyya Mayet

Jena Arderne

Nyelole Baloyi

Rowan Christy

Kgothatso Chapi

Gert Louw

Alfred Mwasi

Paul Molema

Martin Ojom

Emmanuel Matara

Courtland Carelse

Mpho Nkopane

Cole Fredericks

Hadassa do Carmo Rodrigues

Justin Tromp

Emma Eaton

Virgil Mwatotele

Thejna Pannalall

Cuan Farrenkothen

Zeta Swart

Jace Lockett

Ridhaa Damon

Ethan Le Roux

Kevin Drake

Timothy Nel

Justin Weir

Timothy Meyer

Allyssa Peters

Lukhalimo Matebese

Anneli Botha

Ayme Boltman

Bronwyn Kode

Ahmad Gierdien

Maimoonah Momath

Lise Do

Marion Deboissy

Nicolas Athanassidis-Papaziami


Vincent Vieille

Kgomotso Molete

Kabelo Montsho

Mulalo Magwede

Kgomotso Molete,

Tsolofelo Motswakae

Isabel Radebe

Kabelo Montsho,

Tiaan Pienaar

McKayla Sundaram     

Alana du Pisiani     

Nadia Mostert     

She who shall not be named ;)

Rachael Adams     

Sakeenah Motseki     

Liam Botha     

Msengana Sinelizwi     

And thanks to…

Elsa Pretorius

Tim Argall

Bugbox Animation

Natasje van Niekerk

Angela Jones

Ecole Emile Cohl

The Animation School

Open Window

Inscape College

Animation South Africa



And of course, to the ultimate Creator of all